Three Types of Ascetism


Imam Ahmad (رحمه الله) mentioned that there are three levels of ascetism, or zuhd.

1. The first is to leave that which is prohibited. (And this is something that the common Muslim must also do.)
2. The second level is to leave that which is permissible but not necessary. This is piety.
3. Then, the final level is to leave everything and anything that might distract you from the remembrance of Allah. This is what the sahabah had, and this is what we should all strive for as Allah (subhanahu wa ta’ala) praises them in the Qur’an, in Surah Al-Nur ayah 37:

Men whom neither commerce nor sale distracts from the remembrance of Allāh and performance of prayer and giving of zakāh. They fear a Day in which the hearts and eyes will [fearfully] turn about.

[This has been taken from a lecture by Imam AbdulNasir Jangda.


No Responses Yet to “Three Types of Ascetism”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: