The Most Important Friend

19Mar09

I was going to update with another post about the sciences of the Qur’an, but I wanted to share this hadith; I had been trying to search for it for quite a few weeks and finally found it in a book:

An-Nu’man bin Bashir, Abu Huraryrah, and other compansions (radi Allahu anhum) reported that the Prophet (sal Allahu alayhi wa sallam) said:

“The example of a believer and death is like a man who has three close friends. The first friend is his wealth, and it says to him, “Take from me as much as you wish (while you live).” The second is his family, and it says to him, “I am now with you, and when you die I will lower you (into your grave and then leave you).” The third is his deeds, and it says to him, “I am with you now, and will leave (the world) with you.” So he will say to it (after death), “Indeed I used to consider you the least important of my friends.” [Recorded by al-Bazzar, at-Tabarani, and others. Verified to be authentic by al-Albani (as-Sahihah no. 2481)]

I got this hadith from Life in al-Barzakh: from Death until Resurrection by Muhammad al-Jibaly, and it is a book I recommend.



No Responses Yet to “The Most Important Friend”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

