Another reaction to the Quran

20Mar09

In the post before last, I posted how Utbah ibn Rabee’, one of the seniors of the Quraish, reacted when he heard the Qur’an. Now, I will post the reaction of Waleed ibn Mugheerah, the prized poet of the Quraish, when he heard the Qur’an.

Before I post, however, as a side note, I just wanted to add that the last three posts (excluding yesterday’s) are from my notes from IlmSummit, and I have tagged them as such, so I will not announce this in every post. In sha Allah, I will be posting a lot more of my notes.

Now, for the story:

Waleed ibn Mugheerah hadn’t really heard much of the Quran until one day he happened to pass by the Kabah. He stopped dead in his tracks and stood there mesmerized, listening to the recitation of RasulAllah sal Allahu alayhi wa salam. Then he went back to his house in a state of shock. News spread throughout the city that Waleed had heard the recitation.

So when Abu Jahl heard of this, he rushed to Waleed (who was a very senior person, towards the end of his life) and said, “Oh my dear uncle (respected person), people are spreading the news that you have been affected by this man’s speech so say something against it so that people know that you are not following his religion.”

Waleed said, “And what do you want me to say? Wallahi, indeed the speech that he said is sweetness. And it has beautification on it. (He then presents the metaphor of a date palm tree. Its top portions are very fruitful and its bottom portion is firm – from the beginning to end, it is nothing but beautiful. Everything about it is perfect.) The Quran overpowers everything and nothing can over power it. It utterly demolishes.” And this is coming from Waleed ibn Mugheerah, who is a poet himself.

Abu Jahl said, “By Allah, your people (meaning himself) will not be satisfied with you until you say something.” Then Waleed said, “You have to give me some days. I don’t know what to say.” The Quran has just silenced the most eloquent of Arabs. So after a few days he came back to Abu Jahl and said, “The only thing I can say is that the Qur’an is some type of magic that has an effect on its listeners.” And so in Al-Muddathir Allah has revealed verses about him – Allah describes him in the privacy of his house, when no one could see him.

“Leave Me with the one I created alone. And to whom I granted extensive wealth. And children present [with him]. And spread [everything] before him, easing [his life]. Then he desires that I should add more. No! Indeed, he has been toward Our verses obstinate. I will cover him with arduous torment. Indeed, he thought and deliberated. So may he be destroyed [for] how he deliberated. Then may he be destroyed [for] how he deliberated. Then he considered [again]; Then he frowned and scowled; Then he turned back and was arrogant And said, “This is not but magic imitated [from others]. This is not but the word of a human being.” I will drive him into Saqar. And what can make you know what is Saqar? It lets nothing remain and leaves nothing [unburned], Blackening the skins. Over it are nineteen [angels].” [74:11-30]

Read the tafseer of these verses here.



No Responses Yet to “Another reaction to the Quran”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

