Who are your friends?

12Mar10

Allah subhanahu wa ta’ala says in the Quran,

And the Day the wrongdoer will bite on his hands [in regret] he will say, “Oh, I wish I had taken with the Messenger a way. Oh, woe to me! I wish I had not taken that one as a friend. He led me away from the remembrance after it had come to me. And ever is Satan, to man, a deserter.” [25:27-29]

The Prophet (sal Allahu alayhi wa sallam) said, “A man follows the religion/lifestyle of his close friend, so let each of you be very careful about whom he befriends.” [Narrated by Imam Ahmad, graded as Hasan by Shaikh Al-Albani]

Three criteria for a friend:
1. If you see them, they will remind you of Allah.
2. Their way of life will guide you to the path of Allah.
3. Their speech will increase your iman.

(These criteria have been taken from notes for an AlKauthar class.)



No Responses Yet to “Who are your friends?”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

